Come into my living room!

Just a quick post tonight to share a few pictures of my cozy living room. It is my favorite room in the house and is the best living room arrangement I’ve ever had. I am absolutely tickled pink with how it turned out!

I wish I had a better camera so I could capture the ambience of the room with its warm lighting, but when I tried photographing things with no flash, the pictures were just too dark. So you’ll have to settle for “flashy” pictures and just imagine the warmth and comfort of this cozy room!

First, here is the view from the inside wall when you stand with your back to the dining room and kitchen. The corner cupboard that used to be in the dining room of my old house now has a place in the living room due to the corner fireplace in the trailer dining room. I really love it in here, though, because it adds a lot of cottage character!The rocking chair was a gift from dear friends when we had a new baby, and I never seemed to have a place for it in the old house (in spite of its being a larger home!). It works so nicely in this room.

As you can see, we have  French Country color scheme going here with the reds, blues, yellows, plus black accents. I hung the curtains right at the edge of the ceiling (about a foot above the windows) to give the illusion of greater height. The curtains are a mixture of ones that were in my old dining room (blue) and ones from my old bedroom (the sheers over the windows). I love the soft, flowing look. The overall effect of the room is so homey and cozy that I find myself using this room far more than I ever did a formal living room in the past. The children and I love to cuddle up on the couch and read together.

I pulled the room together with a wonderful oriental rug we received from my father-in-law. This creates a defined area for the rest of the furniture. At first I was afraid it wouldn’t fit without blocking some of the air vents on the floor, but my husband figured out the best placement, and we just love the look. At right is the view when you first come in the front door. You can just see the hallway and the end of the dining room behind the couch. We have lots of artwork from our old home, and we’ve managed to find space for almost all of it. We figured we’d just imitate the British and cover the walls with paintings, prints, and photos! The red couch is probably my favorite piece of furniture in the room. I have plans to slipcover it so I can change its look from season to season. I have about 12 yards of a blue and creamy yellow Waverly stripe that I found on eBay for $41 — that’s 12 yards for less than the retail price of two! Gotta love it. Don’t know when I’ll get around to that project, but I’ll be sure to blog about it. I’d love to have the cover made by next spring, since it will make a nice change in the room and will make things seem cooler when the hot weather rolls around.

Finally, here is the view of the entry wall with the plates over the table that I’ve shown in a previous post. I still have plans to make the table skirt, and now that I’ve found the fabric, I hope to get that done in the next week or so. It will really soften up that wall, which has a lot of hard lines with the long painting, the table, and the bookcase. You can see a hat in the upper right-hand corner of the photo. That’s hanging on a hall tree stand that my husband loves to use for his own hats. Now they are right within reach when he goes out the front door! I put one of my favorite hats there as well. This is just a really wonderful room.

I’m filing away mental notes for our future dream house (the one we hope to build ourselves one of these days!). I’ve learned so many things from the various houses we’ve lived in, and I’ve got a big folder of notes about what has worked and what has not. Some of the things that work so nicely about this house are probably the very things that would make a double-wide unappealing to some folks. Yes, this is a fairly small house, but the smaller size makes housecleaning a real breeze! It takes half the time to clean this house than it did to clean the old one. I also love the fact that the kitchen, dining room, and living room make up a friendly triangle where I can be with my children and easily carry on conversations with family and friends. The walls are thin, yes, but that makes it easy to hear my children and speak to them without having to raise my voice as much as I did in the old house with all its far-flung corners!

Just before bedtime tonight, the children and I sat together in the living room, tired but happy after a long day. I looked around at all the smiling faces and said, “Children, don’t you love living in this cozy cottage of ours?” There was a loud chorus of “YES!” followed by lots of grins and comments about how great it is to live in the country and have plenty of room to explore and play together. Have I mentioned that I love this place? 🙂

6 Responses to “Come into my living room!”


  1. 1 marjie August 31, 2008 at 7:44 pm

    Wow, you have done a great job of decorating your new home. I love the colors. The red sofa really adds some nice color. I also like how you explain how and why you put things where they are. I tend to put then find how and why.
    You are a great decorator.
    I plan on taking pictures of our home now that it is finally ready.
    Our style are very different. I am traditional/modern. Odd combo, I know. My bedroom is an odd mix too.
    You did a great job of adding old and given pieces into your home. I really like that. It is very hard to do, for me anyway.

  2. 2 queenofmytrailer September 4, 2008 at 4:46 am

    Thanks for the kind comments! It has really been fun to turn this place into a cozy cottage. We love it. It’s fun to mix and match furniture pieces until they work together. I’ve found that pulling things from one room into another can really change the dynamic. The table I’ve used for the entry way was in our kitchen when we were newlyweds. It has been one of the most useful pieces of furniture, and my mother found it at a flea market for less than $10!

  3. 3 Sandy October 25, 2008 at 7:17 pm

    God has blessed you. Can’t you see that. You have a nice home. You have a house. Perhaps it is a double wide, but it is a house even if it is not site built. At the price of them, they are houses. I know what I paid for mine. It cost the same as a house that was built on site. God blessed me with it. I have raised my kids here, and other kids here. It is a refuge for those young people when they are upset. It is their safe harbor.
    Your home is lovely, and you are doing a fine job with it. Enjoy your blessing

  4. 4 queenofmytrailer October 29, 2008 at 6:38 pm

    Thanks, Sandy! Yes, I do feel very blessed! We absolutely love this place. The children so enjoy the acreage to explore, and we feel so cozy and snug in our cottage! Thanks for the kind words in your other comments, too. 🙂

  5. 5 His Tender Mercies October 30, 2008 at 2:29 am

    You have a very nice home! I live in a double wide as well, but I wouldn’t say it is small…it’s over 2000sq ft with a full basement. Your’s doesn’t look small either.

    Before we moved to our home 2 1/2 years ago, we lived in a home that my husband built….on 3 acres. It was a very nice home in the country but smaller than what we have now. My husband had a dream for a long time to have more land. We found that here in this double wide home on 26 acres. It really is a nice home but it seems a stigma comes with them. It was even harder to get financing, just because our home was manufactured. I don’t get it : (

    I just found your blog today & I love seeing what you’ve done to your home to make it yours. Very nice!

    God Bless

  6. 6 TMS October 30, 2008 at 2:19 pm

    Your house is adorable, and I love how you put the living room together! I would never had known that was inside a “trailer” by looking at the pictures.


Leave a Reply

About the Queen…

Amanda Livenwell is the pen name of a stay-at-home mom who shares the adventure of living large on one income in, yes, a double-wide trailer! Join our family as we say goodbye to suburbia, trim down, and start saving to build our own home. We're going to talk about doing it yourself, living beautifully on less, making do or doing without, and counting it all joy in the process. We'll cover prep-work and painting, refacing kitchen cabinets, flooring on the cheap, tiling over laminate, upholstering furniture, and just rolling up our sleeves in general. If you love home improvement, this is the place for you. Let's get cracking!

Favorite Frugal Helps!


MSM is Frugality Central! Bookmark, visit often, subscribe to the feed, and save!

Organic Valley Family of Farms - Get coupons and special offers for delicious, healthy food!

The Coupon Mom - Another fabulous source for discounts and freebies!

Dave Ramsey will help you break the chains of debt and run to freedom!

What Inspires Me Most!

"She seeks wool and flax, and willingly works with her hands. She girds herself with strength, and strengthens her arms. She perceives that her merchandise is good, and her lamp does not go out by night. She stretches out her hands to the distaff, and her hand holds the spindle. She watches over the ways of her household, and does not eat the bread of idleness." ~ Proverbs 31:13, 17-19, 27

"Do you see a man who excels in his work? He will stand before kings;he will not stand before unknown men." ~ Proverbs 22:29

"The soul of a lazy man desires, and has nothing; but the soul of the diligent shall be made rich." ~ Proverbs 13:4

Blog background by


